Lynchburg City School Board Work Session January 15, 2015

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

Regina T. Dolan-Sewell, Chairman Mary Ann Hoss, Vice Chairman James E. Coleman Michael J. Nilles Jennifer R. Poore Katie K. Snyder J. Marie Waller Thomas H. Webb Charles B. White

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT:

None

ADMINISTRATION PRESENT:

Scott S. Brabrand, Superintendent
Ben W. Copeland, Assistant Superintendent of Operations and Administration
John C. McClain, Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction
Anthony E. Beckles, Sr., Chief Financial Officer
April M. Bruce, Director of Testing, Gifted, and Guidance
David A. Childress, Director of Information Technology
Jason J. Ferguson, Director of Transportation
Steven L. Gatzke, Director of Facilities
Marie F. Gee, Director of Personnel
Ethel E. Reeves, Director of Culture and Engagement
Michael K. Rudder, Director of School Improvement
Marianne Turner, Director of Student Services
Wyllys D. VanDerwerker, Director of Special Education
Brian S. Wray, Director of K-12 Instruction
Wendie L. Sullivan, Clerk/Recording Secretary

MEDIA PRESENT:

Katrina Dix, The News & Advance

The Lynchburg City School Board met for its regular meeting at 5:35 p.m. in the Board Room at the School Administration Building. Dr. Dolan-Sewell opened the meeting and asked those in attendance to stand and recite *The Pledge of Allegiance*.

The school administration reviewed the items contained in Tier I. School board members discussed providing funding for the Early College program, a Tier 2 item, for students who receive free/reduced lunch. Some school board members were not in favor of this because they feel that the focus should be on K-12 instruction while others believe that providing this funding will help students who would not be able to take advantage of this program. Further, the school division currently provides assistance for students who take Advanced Placement and Dual Enrollment courses.

The school administration will present funding options for the Early College program at the school board meeting on January 20, 2015.

The meeting adjourned at 8:06 p.m.

	Regina T. Dolan-Sewell, Chairman
Wendie L. Sullivan, Clerk	