Lynchburg City School Board Annual Retreat July 17-18, 2014

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

Regina T. Dolan-Sewell, Chairman Mary Ann Hoss, Vice Chairman James E. Coleman Michael J. Nilles Jennifer R. Poore Katie K. Snyder J. Marie Waller Thomas H. Webb Charles B. White

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT:

None

ADMINISTRATION PRESENT:

Scott S. Brabrand, Superintendent

John C. McClain, Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction

Ben W. Copeland, Assistant Superintendent of Operations and Administration

Anthony E. Beckles, Sr., Chief Financial Officer

David A. Childress, Director of Information Technology

Jason J. Ferguson, Director of Transportation

Marie F. Gee, Director of Personnel

Michael K. Rudder, Director of School Improvement

Wyllys D. VanDerwerker, Director of Special Education

Brian S. Wray, Director of Pre-K – 12 Instruction

MEDIA PRESENT:

Jessie Pounds, The News & Advance

The Lynchburg City School Board met for its annual retreat in SCH231 Faculty Conference Room in Elliot and Rosel Schewel Hall at Lynchburg College. During the retreat, the school board discussed the following topics:

Employee Salary Scales

Department of Curriculum and Instruction: Entry Plan

Contingency Funds for Specified Uses

Core Values

Employee Attendance

Instructional Technology Specialists

Policy and Governance

Online Courses

Advanced Placement Trends: Review of Test Scores

Career-Technical Education: Personnel Trends

College Bound V. Career Ready

Department of Transportation Routing Process

Review of SOL Test Trends and Strategies for 2014-15

	Regina T. Dolan-Sewell, Chairman
Wendie L. Sullivan, Clerk	_