Lynchburg City School Board School Board Retreat July 26-27, 2012

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

Charles B. White, Chairman Treney L. Tweedy, Vice Chairman Mary Ann H. Barker Albert L. Billingsly Regina T. Dolan-Sewell Jennifer R. Poore Katie K. Snyder J. Marie Waller Thomas H. Webb

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT:

None

ADMINISTRATION PRESENT:

Scott S. Brabrand, Superintendent Anthony E. Beckles, Sr., Chief Financial Officer

William A. Coleman, Jr., Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction

April M. Bruce, Director of Testing, Gifted, and Guidance

Jason J. Ferguson, Director of Transportation

Steven L. Gatzke, Director of Facilities and Maintenance

Marie F. Gee, Director of Personnel

Kevin M. Latham, Director of Secondary Education

Gloria C. Preston, Director of Student Services and Alternative Education

Michael K. Rudder, Director of Elementary Education Gregory P. Sullivan, Director of Information Technology Wyllys D. VanDerwerker, Director of Special Education

MEDIA PRESENT:

Jessie Pounds, The News & Advance

The Lynchburg City School Board met for its annual retreat in the faculty conference room in the Schewel Lecture Hall at Lynchburg College on July 26 and 27, 2012. During the retreat, the school board discussed the following topics:

- Lynchburg City Schools Comprehensive Plan
- Policy and Governance for School Board Members
- Digital Initiatives
- Partners In Education/Evaluation of Revenue Opportunities through Corporate-Individual Sponsorships
- 21st Century Community Learning Center Grants
- AP Test Fees
- Daily Schedules for Students

The school board's retreat adjourned at 10:30 a.m. on July 27, 2012.

| Charles B. White, Chairman |
|----------------------------|

Wendie L. Sullivan, Clerk

(SCHOOL BOARD DOCUMENT FILES ARE LOCATED IN THE DEPARTMENT FOR FINANCE AT THE SCHOOL ADMINISTRATION BUILDING.)