Lynchburg City School Board School Board Retreat October 15, 2015

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

Mary Ann Hoss, Chairman J. Marie Waller, Vice Chairman Sharon Y. Carter James E. Coleman Regina T. Dolan-Sewell Michael J. Nilles Derek L. Polley Jennifer R. Poore Katie K. Snyder

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT:

None

ADMINISTRATION PRESENT:

Scott S. Brabrand, Superintendent

Ben W. Copeland, Assistant Superintendent for Operations and Administration

John C. McClain, Assistant Superintendent for Student Learning and Success

Anthony E. Beckles, Sr., Chief Financial Officer

LaTonya D. Brown, Director for Student Support, Behavior, and Alternative Education

April M. Bruce, Director of Data, Assessment, and Accountability

David A. Childress, Director for Information Technology

Steven L. Gatzke, Director for Facilities

Marie F. Gee, Director for Personnel

Ethel E. Reeves, Director for Engagement, Equity, and Opportunity

Meryl T. Smith, Director for School Nutrition

Michael K. Rudder, Director of School Improvement and Grants

Wyllys D. VanDerwerker, Director for Exceptional Learners

Wendie L. Sullivan, Clerk/Recording Secretary

MEDIA PRESENT:

Katrina Dix, The News & Advance

The Lynchburg City School Board met at 8:00 a.m. at the GLTC Transfer Station in the third floor conference room. Ms. Hoss opened the meeting. Topics discussed during the meeting included the Promise Plan; data for economically disadvantaged students; greater awareness of Lynchburg City Schools; school safety; inequity between the two high schools; teacher and personnel retention; and Advanced Placement test scores.

The meeting adjourned at 4:32 p.m.

	Mary Ann Hoss, Chairman
Wendie I. Sullivan Clerk	

(SCHOOL BOARD DOCUMENT FILES ARE LOCATED IN THE DEPARTMENT FOR FINANCE AT THE SCHOOL ADMINISTRATION BUILDING.)