Lynchburg City School Board/Lynchburg City Council Joint Session November 4, 2014

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

Regina T. Dolan-Sewell, Chairman Mary Ann Hoss, Vice Chairman James E. Coleman Michael J. Nilles Jennifer R. Poore Katie K. Snyder J. Marie Waller Thomas H. Webb Charles B. White

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT:

None

ADMINISTRATION PRESENT:

Scott S. Brabrand, Superintendent Ben W. Copeland, Assistant Superintendent of Operations and Administration John C. McClain, Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction Anthony E. Beckles, Sr., Chief Financial Officer April M. Bruce, Director of Testing, Gifted, and Guidance David A. Childress, Director of Information Technology Jason J. Ferguson, Director of Transportation Steven L. Gatzke, Director of Facilities Marie F. Gee, Director of Personnel Ethel E. Reeves, Director of Culture and Engagement Michael K. Rudder, Director of School Improvement Marianne Turner, Director of Student Services Wyllys D. VanDerwerker, Director of Special Education Brian S. Wray, Director of K-12 Instruction Wendie L. Sullivan, Clerk/Recording Secretary

COUNCIL MEMBERS PRESENT:

The Honorable Michael A. Gillette, Mayor The Honorable Ceasor T. Johnson, Vice Mayor The Honorable Joan F. Foster The Honorable Jeff S. Helgeson The Honorable J. Randolph Nelson The Honorable Edgar J. T. Perrow, Jr. The Honorable Treney L. Tweedy

COUNCIL MEMBERS ABSENT:

None

CITY ADMINISTRATION PRESENT:

L. Kimball Payne, III, City Manager Bonnie Svrcek, Deputy City Manager Valeria Chambers, Clerk of Council

MEDIA PRESENT:

Michael Neary, The News & Advance

Lynchburg City School Board/Lynchburg City Council Joint Session November 4, 2014 Page Two

Agenda Items:

- 1. Lynchburg City Schools Comprehensive Plan Update
- 2. 2016 Capital Improvement Plan
- 2014 Fund Balance
- 3. School Summit
- 4. City/Schools Collaboration
- 5. Heritage High School: Update

The Lynchburg City School Board and Lynchburg City Council met at 7:00 p.m. in the Board Room at the School Administration Building. Dr. Dolan-Sewell opened the meeting. Mayor Gillette also provided opening remarks. During the meeting members of the school administration provided presentations on the items listed on the agenda. Presenters included Dr. Brabrand, Mr. Copeland, Mr. Beckles, and Mr. VanDerwerker. The meeting adjourned at 8:40 p.m.

Regina T. Dolan-Sewell, Chairman

Wendie L. Sullivan, Clerk

(SCHOOL BOARD DOCUMENT FILES ARE LOCATED IN THE DEPARTMENT FOR FINANCE AT THE SCHOOL ADMINISTRATION BUILDING.)